May 8, 2021


every news you want

Suspected ADF rebels kill villagers in eastern DRC: Army | News from the Democratic Republic of the Congo

2 min read

Suspected rebels behead eight people and kill two others in separate attacks in eastern DR Congo, the army said.

Fighters believed to belong to the notorious Allied Democratic Forces (ADF) killed at least 10 civilians in two late-night attacks in eastern Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), the army said on Sunday.

At least eight people were beheaded in Boyo village in northeast Ituri province, while two others were shot dead in Kainama village by suspected ADF fighters, the spokesperson said. word of the army, Lieutenant Jules Ngongo.

The soldiers were chasing the attackers, he added.

Local officials confirmed both attacks, adding that houses were also set on fire in the violence.

Kainama is located in the far north of the province of North Kivu, on the border with Ituri. It is only five kilometers (three miles) from Boyo. The two provinces are located on the border of the DRC with Uganda to the east.

The ADF, which emerged in the 1990s in western Uganda with the aim of creating a so-called “Islamic State”, have established their base in eastern DRC since 1995.

Although they have not launched raids in Uganda for several years, the group has been accused of killing more than 800 civilians over the past year in the provinces of North Kivu and South Kivu.

While the army has been carrying out operations against them in the region since October 2019, it has not been able to stop the massacres of civilians.

After a period of relative calm in January, its fighters stepped up their attacks on civilians in Beni, North Kivu province, and Irumu, Ituri.

But they are just one of dozens of armed groups that have operated in the mineral-rich border region of eastern DRC for decades.

A recent report by Kivu Security Tracker analysts estimated that there were at least 122 armed groups active in the four eastern border provinces of the DRC, from north to south: Ituri, North Kivu, South Kivu and Tanganyika.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *